How can we Help ?

How do I delete files from retention?

Please follow the steps below to delete files from your backup account retention.   

NOTE: It is not recommended to delete large amounts of data via the web console (e.g. over 5 GB).  If you need to delete large amounts of data, deleting may take some time and the backup acocunt may not immediately reflect the free space until the nighly indexing process takes place on the servers.

A much more efficient way to remove files from retention is to set the "retention" setting of your backup set, located in the backup set settings, down to "0" or "1", then wait 24 hours.  If set to "0" for example, upon next backup the retention area will be cleared by the system.  If set to "1", all but one day of retention will be clear after the next backup, and so on.

To continue deleting files manually you may do so in two methods. Once the restore window is launched the process is the same, but accessing the restore window can be done through two ways.

Client Software

  1. Open the client software on a machine running under the user account yhou want to remove data from.

  2. Click the [Restore] button on the left pane.

  3. Choose the Backup Set you want to delete data from and then click Next. Otherwise, If you want to remove all data from the account you can click the [Delete all files] in the bottom left corner of the restore window.

  4. Otherwise click Next

  5. Click "Show All Files" as .  Note: files in retention show up as "gray".  Current versions of the files show as normal.
  6. Place check marks next to the data you want to delete.

  7. Click the [Delete] button on the left side under the directory tree.

 

Web Portal

  1. Log into the reseller management portal or the end-user client portal

  2. Navigate to the user and then click [File Explorer] at the top

  3. Click the [Delete] button (Next to the "Restore" button).  This will launch the java applet that will allow restoring or deleting of files.  If you are prompted by your browser to take action (allow, unblock, etc), always choose "Yes" or "OK"

  4. Choose the backup set you would like to delete files from

  5. Click "Show All Files" as .  Note: files in retention show up as "gray".  Current versions of the files show as normal.

  6. Place check marks next to the data you want to delete.

  7. Click the [Delete] button to the left side under the directory tree.

 

As noted above, this may take some time depending on the amount of data you selected.
Average rating:0 (0 Votes)

Contact Information

  • XZBACKUP
    2850 Interstate Dr. #2, 33805
    Toll-Free: +1 800.213.2157
    US Local: +1 727.564.9230
    UK Local: +44 2036.080613
    Phone Hours: 9AM - 6PM EST
    E-mail: sales@xzbackup.com
    Website: www.xzbackup.com
Copyright © 2015 xzbackup.com. All rights reserved.